Support Federal Funding for Kidney Disease Research and Programs

By Kevin Longino, Interim Chief Executive Officer, National Kidney Foundation

Each year, federal funding for kidney disease must be appropriated by Congress.  Important work is being done at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK), and the Health Services and Resource Administration (HRSA) to advance kidney disease research and improve access to kidney transplantation.  However, this work can’t continue or grow without funding.  This is why we need your help. Please email your members of Congress and request that they increase federal funding for kidney disease research and programs.

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Chronic Kidney Disease Program
To address the social and economic impact of kidney disease, the National Kidney Foundation worked with Congress to launch the Chronic Kidney Disease Program at CDC.  Since then, Congress has provided annual funding to sustain this critical program.  Cost-effective early testing and treatment can slow the progression of kidney disease, delay complications, and prevent or postpone kidney failure.  Urge Congress to provide $2.2 million for the CKD program for Fiscal Year (FY) 2016, an increase of $100,000.

National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK)
Medicare spends $87 billion annually to care for patients with kidney disease, including nearly $29 billion for individuals with end stage renal disease (ESRD), yet NIH funding for kidney disease research is only about $600 million annually.  Additional funding is needed so that more researchers can investigate ways to stop kidney disease and improve treatments for those who have it.  Urge Congress to support increased funding for kidney disease by providing $2.066 billion for NIDDK in FY 2016.

HRSA Division of Organ Transplantation
The HRSA Division of Transplantation (DoT) is responsible for national implementation of policies and oversight governing the distribution of organs to those awaiting an organ transplant. In addition, DoT also helps support programs aimed at increasing the number of donor organs.  For example, the National Donor Assistance Program has helped more than 4,800 individuals obtain a transplant by assisting living donors with out-of-pocket expenses such as travel and subsistence that are not reimbursed by insurance, a health benefit program, or any other state or federal program.  The National Donor Assistance Program enables more individuals to consider being a living donor without having to worry about unreimbursed expenses related to donation. Urge Congress to provide $26.55 million for organ donation and transplantation programs for the HRSA DoT, $3,000,000 above the President’s request. 

Tell your Members of Congress to support these funding requests so we can save lives, kidneys and money while reducing kidney disease.

About nkf _advocacy

The National Kidney Foundation's advocacy movement is for all people affected by CKD, transplant candidates and recipients, living and potential donors, donor families and caregivers. We empower, educate and encourage you to get involved on issues relating to CKD, donation and transplantation.
This entry was posted in Advocacy, federal funding, public policy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Support Federal Funding for Kidney Disease Research and Programs

  1. Paul Singleton says:

    My name is Paul Singleton and I have a Patent Pending Application filed with the USPTO for a vascular access device that could be used with patients on dialysis.
    Dialysis patients typically have a fistula or a graft as an access in their arm or leg. Two vascular needles are used to access the arterial side and the venous side. After 4 or 5 hours on their treatment the patient has to sit an additional 20-30 min and hold their sites till the bleeding stops. Sometimes the access will break open which causes a bloody mess. At times while the patient is at home without a medical professional around the access has been known to break open even while sleeping. I have witnessed the bloody mess at work and have heard countless stories of accesses breaking open at home or while driving in a car.
    My device will allow the patient to leave after treatment without holding their sites and will never worry about their sites breaking open at home or while out shopping. How you ask…… My device has a self closing mechanism which will stop the bleeding after the treatment has ended and the needles are pulled from the access.
    I am seeking funds to get my device prototyped and clinically tested for FDA approval.
    I have many companies interested in my device but will not commit till I have a prototype and has been through the clinical testing phase.
    If your interested in investing or possibly donating please go to my gofundme page at gofundme.com/swengg

    Best regards,

    Paul Singleton

  2. Melissa House says:

    Please consider this. My husband is in kidney failure and is in need of a new kidney

  3. Brenda Rawson says:

    I am in end stage kidney failure on peritoneal dialysis. I do not have any other serious health issues & am in good physical condition.

    I am praying for a donor kidney. I am also very frustrated that Alabama has no support groups for kidney failure patients in this state. Pat people have no understanding of kidney failure.

    More publicity needs to be put out to the public to help educate everyone.

    If there were more public understanding
    Of this chronic disease perhaps there would be more people willing to donate.

  4. S says:

    May I submit some clinical findings with investigation report of my aunt who is suffering from chronic sclerorising glomerulonephriti for your opinion ?

  5. Asgar khan says:

    My mother is suffering from CKD 5 since April 2014 ,she on dialysis .53 year old .l am finding kidney donor .

  6. joe cannestra says:

    Brenda, I to live in Alabama, in September 2013 I was diagnosed with stage 4 kidney disease. There are currently 4000 people in our state waiting for transplant, you are absolutely right regarding support groups, awareness and education, even with great hospitals like uab they are overwhelmed in this area. I try to follow my diet , exercise visit my nephrologist 3-4 yr and CONTINUALLY PRAY TO OUR GREAT AND HOLY GOD, WHO IS THE GREAT PHYSICIAN AND CARES FOR EACH ONE OF US. I WILL BE PRAYING FOR YOU. I Will periodically be contacting our congressional leaders for their support and action.

  7. lynne west says:

    Went for an annual physical and found out that my kidneys were being smothered in calcium. Spent a week in the hospital to figure out what the nephrologist was going to do with me. I guess there’s a first for everything. Shame on me for listening to the doctor and taking 1200 ml of calcium when I was getting enough from the wonderful foods I ate. Now I am shut down to eating nothing healthy anymore, a low oxalate diet..That’s how I feel today.I am not overweight, I have no diabetes and no high blood pressure.If only my doctor would of listened to what I was eating and my bone scan was above normal all would of been OK. I am now very skeptical of doctors!!!
    Things have improved a little. It’s been a year and a half. I was at 15 GFR and 3.17 Creatinine and now at 29 GFR and 1.7 Creatinine just with the diet change. It’s hard work but I want to Live!! IBUT very tough not being able to have any dairy, citrus, chocolate and nuts!!! Thank you for reading and I hope we get some funding to help all of us that are in trouble!!It’s amazing how many lives are turned upside down by following doctors orders.

Your thoughts:

